Get Adobe Flash player

How do I get a permit?

Utah CCW

Nevada CCW PermitNevada and Utah are 'shall issue' states meaning that as long as you take a required class on gun safety/CCW familiarization and you pass the background checks, you will get a permit.

 

Classes are generally held on Saturdays. Friday's and Sunday's are available, contact me for more information. Classes can be split into two 4 hours sessions no farther apart than 14 days. Some night classes (4 hours) are available. Contact me for more information.

 

Requirements
You must be 21 years of age with no felony convictions. No local traffic warrants or a DUI within the last 5 years.

Please see the full list for Nevada and for Utah at the bottom of the page.

 

You do not have to own a handgun to attend and qualify for a permit. Please note you can take the class if you will turn 21 within the following year of taking the class. The paperwork is good for one year.

 

 

Step One

  • For Nevada - You must take a state approved class on gun safety, concealed carry familiarization and Nevada laws pertaining to the use of deadly force.
  • For Utah - You must take a state (Utah BCI) approved class from an authorized Utah instructor on gun safety, concealed carry familiarization and Utah laws pertaining to the use of deadly force.

My class meets the requirements of both Nevada & Utah.


Step Two

  • After taking my class, you take all of the official paperwork signed by me and apply with the agency for your concealed permit. You must apply in person at the CCW bureau here in Clark County for Nevada and either in-person or by mail for a non-resident permit for Utah.
  • You must pass a local, state and federal background check.
  • For Nevada, you must also pass a written examination (new permits only) and a live fire qualification (this is all part of the training class).

The cost of my class (any CCW class for that matter) does not include the cost of the permit. You will not leave my class with your permit. You will leave my class with all of the necessary signed and stamped documentation to apply for a permit (you'll also leave with much more!). After you have applied for your permit, it can take up to 6 months (most only take 6 - 8 weeks) for your Nevada permit and 60 days for your Utah permit to arrive in the mail.

 

Cost to apply for a permit with Nevada and Utah

Nevada: $97.50 for a new permit. No additional costs are required.

Utah: $51.00 for a new permit and you must provide them with a 2x2 passport quality photograph and a set of fingerprints (small additional cost).

You will get a couple of Utah fingerprint cards from me and when you have your fingerprints done at Metro, for $14 dollars they will copy them onto both of your Utah fingerprint cards.

 

Reasons you can be denied a permit:


Nevada

  • An outstanding warrant of arrest (including traffic)
  • A felony conviction
  • Judicially declared incompetent or insane
  • Habitual abuser of drugs or alcohol
  • Having been convicted for a violent crime including a misdemeanor
  • Having been convicted for domestic violence or stalking

Utah

  • Having been convicted of or under indictment for any felony
  • Having been convicted of any violent felony
  • On probation or parole for any felony
  • On parole from a secure facility
  • Found not guilty by reason of insanity
  • Found mentally incompetent to stand trial for a felony offense
  • Adjudicated as mentally defective
  • Dishonorably discharged from the armed forces
  • Renounced citizenship of the United States

Any type of felony that involves violence/alcohol will cause a permit to be denied. Generally speaking, if you can purchase a handgun you will not have any problems in obtaining a permit. Even after you get your permit, it can be revoked for a variety of reasons. You will learn how to avoid this in class.

 

In my class, you will meet the legal requirements of both Nevada and Utah to apply for a concealed carry permit.